Entertainment, Webseries

Winning Time Season 2 Release Date: HBO Series Portraying the Rise of the Lakers Dynasty?


David Mudd

The first season of HBO’s “Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty” included NBA legends such as Earvin “Magic” Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and was both entertaining and occasionally contentious.

However, the series was not solely focused on the players who guided the club to victory. The semi-fictionalized stories of Jerry Buss, Jack McKinney, Paul Westhead, and Pat Riley were told in “Winning Time.” Jerry West was so dissatisfied with his representation that he sought an apology and a retraction. Abdul-Jabbar was similarly dissatisfied with the show, stating that it “lacked substance and humour.”

Despite these criticisms, “Winning Time” was a critical and popular success. The show has a critical score of 84 percent and an audience score of 85 percent on Rotten Tomatoes, and its viewership increased as Season 1 went.

Therefore, it is not surprising that HBO desires more purple and gold content.

Is a second season of ‘Winning Time’ planned?

HBO announced last month that “Winning Time” has been renewed for a second season. The Season 2 renewal was announced following Episode 5, which attracted 1.2 million viewers across all platforms, according to HBO.

Francesca Orsi, executive vice president of HBO programming, stated, “It’s been a delight to bring ‘Winning Time’ to life with [executive producers] Adam McKay and Max Borenstein, our fantastic production team, and this incredible cast.” This series is not only a thrilling account of the Lakers’ ascent, but also a look back at a revolutionary period in basketball, celebrity, and Los Angeles.

We cannot wait to watch how the next chapter of this dynasty will be written by this crew.

Winning Time Season 2 Release Date

HBO has not yet disclosed when Season 2 of “Winning Time” will begin production or premiere.

Winning Time Season 2 Cast

  • John C. Reilly in the role of Jerry Buss
  • Isaiah Quincy as Magic Johnson
  • Jason Clarke as Jerry West
  • Adrien Brody portraying Pat Riley
  • Gaby Hoffmann in the role of Claire Rothman
  • Tracey Letts in the role of Jack McKinney
  • Jason Segel in the role of Paul Westhead
  • Hadley Robinson in the role of Jeanie Buss
  • Solomon Hughes in the role of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
  • Tamera Tomakili as Kelly “Cookie”
  • As Norm Nixon, DeVaughn Nixon
  • Rob Morgan plays the role of Earvin Johnson Sr.
  • Sally Field portraying Jessie Buss
  • Julianne Nicholson in the role of Cranny McKinney

Winning Time Season 2 Plot

The film “Winning Time” is based on the book “Showtime: Magic, Kareem, and Riley and the Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s” by Jeff Pearlman. Season 1 only covered the 1979-80 season, which concluded with the Lakers defeating the 76ers in the NBA Finals, thus there is much material for future seasons.

HBO has also acquired the rights to Pearlman’s follow-up book, “Three-Ring Circus: Kobe, Shaq, Phil, and the Crazy Years of the Lakers Dynasty,” which explores the Lakers’ run in the mid-1990s and early 2000s. This may enable the producers of “Winning Time” to examine the Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant period.

ALSO CHECK: Upload Season 2 Is Uploading- 6 Things You Need To Know About The Series!

Insecure Season 4: First Look At The HBO Series’ Official Trailer

“Being able to convey the tale of the city and that age while transitioning to another era would be wonderful,” said Borenstein of the show’s future potential (via The Hollywood Reporter). “I hope we have the opportunity to continue doing it, and I have the right to change my mind and determine the specifics. Undoubtedly, there is a plethora of stories.”

Winning Time Season Episodes

  • Every episode of “Winning Time” is streamable on HBO Max.
  • Episode 1 is titled “The Swan” (originally aired March 6)
  • The title of Episode 2 is “Is That All There Is?” (13 March)
  • Episode 3 is titled “The Good Life” (March 20)
  • Who the F— is Jack McKinney? is the title of the fourth episode (March 27)
  • The fifth episode is titled “Pieces of a Man” (April 3)
  • Episode 6: “Reminder of Death” (April 10)
  • Seventh Episode: “Invisible Man” (April 17)
  • The eighth episode is titled “California Dreaming” (April 24)
  • The ninth episode is titled “Acceptable Loss” (May 1)
  • The tenth episode is titled “Promised Land” (May 8)

Winning Time Season 2 Trailer